The Bristol PBSA pipeline a new scheme competes with
Between 1 January and 30 June 2026, Bristol and South Gloucestershire received 6 planning applications for new or additional student accommodation, after we removed condition discharges, amendments and consultations so that each scheme counts once.[2]
Those proposals state 14 beds between them. That is a floor: many applications do not give a bed count until later stages.
Over the twelve months to the end of the period, the same registers show 12 new-capacity applications stating 614 beds. That is the forward pipeline a new Bristol scheme would be competing with for students and for funding.
| Reference | Received | Status | Type | Stated beds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26/12267/F | 2026-06-19 | Decided | Studio-led scheme | 14 |
| 26/11841/F | 2026-04-30 | Pending | Conversion to PBSA | Not stated |
| 26/12288/F | 2026-06-10 | Pending | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
| 26/10185/P | 2026-01-26 | Decided | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
| 26/10196/F | 2026-01-16 | Pending | Purpose-built student accommodation | Not stated |
| 26/10751/F | 2026-02-20 | Approved | Conversion to PBSA | Not stated |
Planning outcomes and what funders look for
Of the 6 applications received in H1 2026, 1 was approved, 0 refused and 5 still undetermined at extraction.
Development lenders price planning risk directly. Most will fund construction only once a sui generis PBSA consent is in place and pre-commencement conditions are discharged. Land bought ahead of consent is usually financed separately, with lower leverage and a shorter term.
Exit values in the student districts
HM Land Registry recorded 438 flat sales and 366 terraced sales in Bristol's student postcode districts in H1 2026.[1] For smaller schemes such as cluster-flat conversions and studio blocks sold unit by unit, those prices are the nearest local evidence of exit value.
The median flat sale was 4.5% above the H1 2025 median.
Larger PBSA schemes exit differently: through a forward sale or forward funding to an investor, or by refinancing onto an investment loan once the building is let. Those exits depend on rent, occupancy and the operator, which the full market report covers.
| Type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 | Last 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flats | £292,500 | £280,000 | £290,000 |
| Terraced houses | £411,000 | £415,000 | £420,000 |
Development lending activity in Bristol
Companies House recorded 325 charges over property in these districts in H1 2026, +14.0% on H1 2025.[3] Development and bridging lenders held 63, against 47 a year earlier.
Of the charges we could match to a lender type, 83.3% sat with specialist banks and non-bank lenders rather than high-street banks.
| Lender type | H1 2026 | H1 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Specialist banks | 156 | 133 |
| Not in our lender register | 62 | 52 |
| Bridging lenders | 50 | 45 |
| High-street banks | 44 | 53 |
| Development lenders | 13 | 2 |
What a PBSA development finance deal in Bristol involves
Talk to us about a Bristol scheme, or read the full Bristol student accommodation market report for demand, rents and occupancy.
- Planning. A sui generis student accommodation consent, with conditions and any Section 106 obligations understood before drawdown.
- Delivery date. Programmes are built back from a September opening. Missing the academic year can cost a full year of income, so lenders test the build programme and contingency closely.
- Demand evidence. Enrolment trends, the local ratio of students to beds and any university nominations agreement.
- Operator. Who will run the building, and their track record, often decides the loan terms as much as the property itself.
- Exit. A forward sale, forward funding or refinance onto an investment loan once stabilised, each with evidence behind it.
Sources
- [1] Price Paid Data · HM Land Registry (OGL v3.0) · to 2026-07-30
- [2] Planning application registers · Bristol and South Gloucestershire · H1 2026
- [3] Register of charges · Companies House · snapshot 2026-08-01
- [4] Higher Education Student Statistics 2023/24 · HESA (approximate) · 2023/24
Market commentary based on public data, published by Lenzie Consulting Ltd. It is not a valuation, investment advice or an offer of finance. Lenzie Consulting Ltd is not authorised or regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority. Contains HM Land Registry data © Crown copyright and database right, licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Individual lenders are not identified.